Author Topic: Testes Droning on Just for -f  (Read 275 times)

testudo

• Stucknut historian (y'all don't want this)
  • -Nutter-
  • Amberlamp Driver
Testes Droning on Just for -f
« on: April 08, 2016, 10:18:02 pm »
The life and Times of Testudo:

I was born and raised in washington D.C.

I went to High School at a school just outside of washington D.C.

In 1982 my High School played a school named Northwestern for the state championship. What's interesting about that?   Northwestern's star player was a young man named Len Bias.  The game was over.   Northwestern was up by one.   A young man named Vernon Butler chucked it from half court right in Lenny's face and it went in and my high school took the championship.

I knew Len Bias personally.  As well as his little brother Jay.   Len Bias's real name was Leonard.

Len Bias went on to play at Maryland.   Vernon Butler became a Navy Seal.

I graduated HS in 1985 and went to Maryland.

Joined the Army because I was broke.   Wound up in some shitty base in California called Fort Ord.  Got deployed to Fort Sherman for Jungle Training school--that's located around the panama canal--should have been my first clue.    Shortly after that,  got deployed to the real deal for Operation Just Cause.  We occupied a part of Panama called the Colon province around Christmas of 89.   Occupied some naval base and a couple other places in and around Colon.   We were along side the 82nd Airborne for a bit.  Returned around February.   We were not there long.   

I was out somewhere in the June time frame--that's when Bush Gulf 1 was just heating up.   I almost was forced to stay in for the simple reason that I could drive a manual transmission truck with night vision qualification.   Yes,   in order to drive with night vision, the Army makes you take a qualification course.

But I didn't have to go and I'm happy about that.